Op: Dinner Out Complete and Im Recovering…

October 7, 2007 at 7:39 pm 6 comments

I’m still recovering from our wonderful Sat. night event, Operation Dinner Out. This experience was amazing on many levels. I just had to get on here and thank a few key people who without their help, I would have been in a deep mess.

(I plan on writing more highlights in the next few days, once I catch up on my sleep and Im not on the road anymore.)

An event like this takes a team of volunteers to selflessly give their time and energy for a cause greater than themselves. Our goal was to make all the ladies in attendance feel appreciated for all their sacrifices they experience in support of their husbands duty to protect and defend this great nation of ours.

Coming in from TN and needing on-site help, I asked two individuals to assist with the evening. Tammy from Mayport and Megan from Kings Bay (who writes on this blog). Now these are women who I had never met in person only via the “internet” and “phone calls”. They handled the registration desk and stuffing of our bags among other things. They were amazing and I am SO thankful for their help! Toby who managed to take my .jpg files and turn them into usable art work. Our wonderful AV guys from the hotel staff who set up our wireless microphone. We had planned a DJ and had a video presentation with Navy Wife Radio highlights, but our production company ran into an emergency the day of the event and we were forced to do what will mil-spouses do best. “Adapt and Overcome”. The heavy rain caused late arrivals and we made the decision to delay the start of our program. Thank you to all of you who were patient with us.

It goes without saying Marie, we had so much fun hosting the night for you. Its important to note she took the day to spend preparing and enjoying time with all of you just days before her husband will be gone at school for six weeks. Marie among other things (receiving and storing tons of boxes), spent hours emailing and making phone calls promoting the event and even handed out flyers on the soccer field. Now the women on her boat “know who she is” , “She’s Marie on Navy Wife Radio??!”. We both (believe it or not) tend to be private people. This was our first “event” where we stepped from out of the shadows of “internet radio” to LIVE and in person. It was a HUGE step for both of us and Im thankful we were received in such a warm way.

Meeting all of you in person was a bit overwhelming, exciting and so much FUN! Thanks to some great email blasts from the local bases and organizations, we had women in attendance who had never listened to one of our shows or even been on our website. How exciting!

We learned a lot during the process of planning this event. Through your comment cards we learned what you loved and how we can improve. We will take all your suggestions to make our next event even better!

I had so many of you come up to me and tell me you had a wonderful time, had a fabulous dinner and really enjoyed Sarah. I had TONS of hugs and I met the sweetest brand new Navy wife who singled me out to tell me this was her FIRST wives functions and that she was go glad she came! ….and with that, I’ll call the night a success!

I’d love to hear about your experience! Please send me an email to wendy(AT)navywiferadio.com or leave me a comment! Oh…..and please ladies send me your photos!!

Entry filed under: Operation: Dinner Out.

We’re on for Tonight Op: Dinner Out Photos

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wendy  |  October 7, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I rec’d this via email – thanks Melanie!!

    I just want you two to know what a fabulous event you put on last night. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was festive, and the speakers were soo funny. Actually, the whole crowd was funny! Considering we have attended MANY Navy functions in 17 years, this was definately one of my highlights- even without a dance floor! I was honored to meet you and look forward to your next event. Oh, and the swag was top notch. I even got a foot rub from my daughter when I got home….I’m walking on cherries today! Thanks again, Melanie

    Reply
  • 2. Wendy  |  October 7, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    I rec’d this via email – thanks Kristen!!

    “I still can’t get over that you, the Wendy I know from work, is the same Wendy that I hear on the radio show! I’m learning the sub world is a very, very small world! LOL” – Kristen

    Reply
  • 3. Wendy  |  October 7, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    Melanie,
    This fact you have attended events for 17 years and this was a highlight for you is such a fantastic complement! Our goal was a night full of FUN and it sounds like you experienced some!! Thank you for coming and don’t forget to listen to the show this Tues!

    Reply
  • 4. Wendy  |  October 7, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Kristen –
    Yes, it was surreal to see someone “I know” as I mentioned, no one really knows just who “Marie and Wendy” are….and well…thats not the case anymore. ha! I hope you’ll still listen now that you know its me and not some “professional”. ha!

    It was great to re-connect with you & Kristen…Im hoping we can keep in touch!

    Reply
  • 5. Shakyra  |  October 8, 2007 at 10:55 am

    What a wonderful night ladies!!! Yes I’ve been a Navy wife for almost 2years and this was my first time going to a function like this, a night for us, the girls. I am so glad I decided to come and didn’t let the rain stop me, I would’ve miss a lot! Thank you so much for such a wonderful night filled with such a wonderful people and the food!! wow!

    Reply
  • 6. Jessie (N.L. SuperMom)  |  October 12, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    I have to say that my friends and I had a wonderful time. The next week after wards my friends and I all got together for our normal coffee morning and everyone wore their shirts in support. (I must admit that being pregnant I totally forgot to wear mine so I was the odd man out). But we look forward to your next event. *hint hint*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Navy Wife Radio

Navy Wife Radio
Listen to Navy Wife Radio Listen LIVE Tuesday's at 10pmET or download

Featured Sponsors

USAA

NWR now listed on:

Military OneSource

Military Spouse Event

Thank you to everyone who made our first Live event such a success! Look for photos and reactions to be posted on the site. REGISTRATION CLOSED
Dinner Out - A Night for Military Spouses - presented by Navy Wife Radio and SubmarineWife.com

Categories

Archives

Featured Shows

Nationally syndicated columnist and author Sarah Smiley! Going Overboard
Sarah's Book on Amazon.com

-------------------------
Third Day's Brad Avery and Scott Thomas.
Third Day's Brad Avery and friend Scott Thomas co-writters of the military song *Thank You* ________________
Pat Hrabe the creator of the popular web series *Hey! Shipwreck*
Hey! Shipwreck
Interview on 5/17
Interview on 7/31
Interview on 11/27
_________________
Sally Pressman *Roxy* from *Army Wives* on Lifetime TV Sally Pressman _______________________
Billy Blanks and daughter Shellie! Billy Blanks _______________________
Holly Scherer and Kathie Hightower! Help! I’m a Military Spouse
Holly & Kathie's Book on Amazon
_______________________
Tanya Biank
Army Wives
Tanya's Book on Amazon

Follow me on Twitter @mymilitarylife


