When things come together

July 24, 2007 at 11:48 pm 3 comments

There have been many times when everything happens at once and I feel overwhelmed. Or when I make a bad decision and then have to suffer the consequences. Sometimes though, all my hard work pays off and the good Lord above smiles down on me. For that matter, I know I don’t deserve the good thing He has blessed me with, and then I experience Grace.

Today was one of the those days.

The interview today with Billy Blanks and his daughter was an amazing experience on so many levels.

Because I had the met him in May (another moment of Grace), I knew having him and Shellie on the show would inspire, motivate and empower military spouses and anyone else who listened. I just didn’t realize how much his visit would effect me.

Sometimes we all need an uplifting message, someone to remind us how much what we do matters and is appreciated. Usually, we don’t even realize we need it, but when it happens it comes at the perfect time. Whether it’s a pat on the back from a boss, a sweet word from our husband or that big hug from our kids, praise and encouragement is something we all love. As military spouses we go about our lives like anyone else, not thinking separations are anything but “the norm”. It’s our life, we choose it and we don’t dwell on it.

To hear Billy’s words “its a privilege and an honor to be in our presence” was….well….it left me speechless. Billy’s passion for supporting the military…it’s so refreshing and quite frankly awesome!

As a military spouse I do what I do because I happened to have fallen in love with a service member. I had no idea of the sleepless nights that would follow, the raising of children alone, or the new military family that I would find. Many women give birth while their husbands are deployed or out to sea, I’m continually impressed and amazed at these women and others who have their own “sea stories” that would make the majority of us stand in awe.

I just want to encourage you if you are reading this and you haven’t heard Billy’s message to you “the military spouse”, take a moment to listen to it here. It will refresh you. Well beyond motivating us to get fit, he reminds us of the bigger picture. How using our words can create a better life. No trying, only DOING!

For me, I’m thankful for the experience of today.

Thanks Billy & Shellie for sharing with us and to all of you who take the time to listen to our shows. It’s a privilege to talk to you each week.

Note: Look for a transcription of the interview coming soon!

Entry filed under: A Day in the Life, Podcast / Radio Show.

Navy Wife Radio LIVE! Tues 24th at 2pmET – “Being Physically Fit and Fiscally Fit!” Getting Fiscally Fit! with June Walbert from USAA

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alecia  |  July 26, 2007 at 7:39 am

    You said it Wendy! I know all to well the feeling of being up to your eyeballs in work and wondering if you are really making a difference at all! It happens to all of us, in business, in military life and often as a Mom. Take heart that tho they may not come forward, there are many people who are thankful to have found your site and thankful that they have another avenue for information.

    Reply
  • 2. Wendy  |  July 29, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    Thanks Alecia for the sweet note! It’s much appreciated! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Marie  |  July 30, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. For once, Wendy and I found ourselves speechless and truely in awe of another human being with such an amazing out look on life. All I still can say is, wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Navy Wife Radio

Navy Wife Radio
Listen to Navy Wife Radio Listen LIVE Tuesday's at 10pmET or download

Featured Sponsors

USAA

NWR now listed on:

Military OneSource

Military Spouse Event

Thank you to everyone who made our first Live event such a success! Look for photos and reactions to be posted on the site. REGISTRATION CLOSED
Dinner Out - A Night for Military Spouses - presented by Navy Wife Radio and SubmarineWife.com

Categories

Archives

Featured Shows

Nationally syndicated columnist and author Sarah Smiley! Going Overboard
Sarah's Book on Amazon.com

-------------------------
Third Day's Brad Avery and Scott Thomas.
Third Day's Brad Avery and friend Scott Thomas co-writters of the military song *Thank You* ________________
Pat Hrabe the creator of the popular web series *Hey! Shipwreck*
Hey! Shipwreck
Interview on 5/17
Interview on 7/31
Interview on 11/27
_________________
Sally Pressman *Roxy* from *Army Wives* on Lifetime TV Sally Pressman _______________________
Billy Blanks and daughter Shellie! Billy Blanks _______________________
Holly Scherer and Kathie Hightower! Help! I’m a Military Spouse
Holly & Kathie's Book on Amazon
_______________________
Tanya Biank
Army Wives
Tanya's Book on Amazon

Follow me on Twitter @mymilitarylife


